Skip to main content

For Immediate Release

April 1, 2020

MABC Names Jerry Asp as the 2019 Mining Person of the Year

VANCOUVER, BC – Michael Goehring, President & CEO of the Mining Association of British Columbia, issued the following statement today in response to the Government of British Columbia’s announcement that major BC industries, including the mining sector, will have the opportunity to defer 50% of their BC Hydro bill payments for three months: “MABC commends the Government of BC and BC Hydro for the hydro deferral program announced today as part of government’s response to COVID-19.

The hydro deferral and other measures in the Province’s COVID-19 Action Plan will improve liquidity and cash flow and help keep the mining sector operating and British Columbians working during this unprecedented health and economic crisis. Mining is energy intensive and electricity is one of the industry’s largest costs. The ability to defer electricity costs that can reach upwards of $2 million per month is a significant aid to a sector that is foundational to the province, our economy and our communities. The BC Hydro Customer Payment Plan demonstrates that deferring electricity payments is a policy tool that works to maintain operations and employment during difficult times. The program is mutually beneficial for both the utility and industry by maintaining important industrial load while keeping British Columbians employed.”


About the Mining Association of British Columbia:

MABC is the voice of mining in British Columbia, representing operating steelmaking coal, metal and industrial mineral producers, as well as smelting operations and advanced development companies in the province. Our mandate is to encourage the safe, responsible development and operation of mining and related facilities across British Columbia. The mining industry generated more than $12 billion in economic activity and supported over 33,000 direct and indirect jobs in 2018, while contributing almost $1 billion in direct payments to the provincial government.

For more information:

Cailey Murphy